Archive for November, 2015

22 Nov 2015

AmyRose Farrell crowned All Ireland champion in Santry (Updated)

Comments Off on AmyRose Farrell crowned All Ireland champion in Santry (Updated) Uncategorized

Update: Congratulations to AmyRose Farrell on her selection to the Irish U16 XC team who will take part at the Celtic International in Scotland in January 2016.

Report below……

Santry played host to the Even Age Juvenile XC championships and National XC championships earlier today with AmyRose Farrell putting on an outstanding display of front running to take the girls U16 4000m title.

Read more

22 Nov 2015

Senior update- Marathon Report 2015

Comments Off on Senior update- Marathon Report 2015 Uncategorized

Marathon Monday 2015 – A day to remember    Report by Gerry Flaherty

Merrion Square was a hive of activity on the morning of October 26th, 2015 at the start of the 36th SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon. Among the 15,216 runners from 62 Countries were 18 Blackrock A.C. runners, the highest ever number from the club with many nervous runners aiming to do their first marathon.  The morning started with a light drizzle but conditions were fairly good early on. As the race progressed the wind was to become a factor in making it a tough day for many runners.  Runners lined up in each of the 3 waves and by 9.20am all the runners were on their journey. Read more

12 Nov 2015

Secondary Schools update November

Comments Off on Secondary Schools update November Uncategorized

We had a host of Club athletes competing in the Annual Blackrock College XC competition in Blackrock yesterday. This event is normally the curtain raiser for the East Leinster XC championships but was brought forward this year.

Congratulations to Ellen Cheung (Mt Anville/ 1st Minor Girls), Julie Ringrose (Mt Anville/ 3rd Inter Girls) and Oisin Kelly (Newpark CS/ 2nd Junior Boys) on very impressive performances.

Ellen took out the Minor race out from the start and finished strongly whilst Julie and Oisin got in very useful workouts in advance of the National Club Champs in a few weeks. All three athletes were up against very strong Dublin/ National Club competitors on the day.

Other athletes competing included Evan Walshe (Benildus/ Minor Boys), Dara Purcell (Colaiste Eoin/ Minor boys), Anna Dignam (Mt Anville/ Inter girls), Claire Doyle (Mt Anville/ Junior girls), Isabelle McCarthy (Mt Anville/ Inter girls), Kristina O’Connor (Loreto Dalkey/ Junior girls), Mika Ryan (Oatlands/ Inter Boys) and Dexter Finnegan (Oatlands/ Inter Boys).

Our athletes also helped Mt Anville pick up Team medals in the Minor Girls/ 3rd Place, Junior Girls/ 2nd Place and Inter girls/ 1st place.

Well done to all involved.

02 Nov 2015

Sarah & AmyRose shine @ Tymon

Comments Off on Sarah & AmyRose shine @ Tymon Uncategorized

Congratulations to Sarah Healy (U15 3500m) and AmyRose Farrell (who was running up a year in U17 4000m) for outstanding performances and Individual Dublin titles at a very warm and sunny Tymon Park yesterday morning. Both girls will now go on to represent the club at the Nationals in Waterford in early December. Well done to both girls.

Julie Ringrose also put in a fine performance finishing in 5th place in the U15 race and Oisin Kelly (11th) and Luke Reynolds were equally impressive in the boys U15 race. Both Julie and Oisin will also go on to represent Dublin at the Nationals.

Also a big congrats to our newest XC recruits, the girls & boys U9 teams who put in strong showings with the girls U9 team winning Gold and the Boys narrowly missing out whilst the Boys U11 team took silver with the girls U11 just missing out. In the case of the boys U11 team, they will also go on to represent the club at the Nationals in Waterford.

The teams were as follows:

U9 Girls: Sophie Curtin, Holly O’Brien, Rachel O’Brien, Sinead Kelly, Mimi Reuland
U9 Boys: Mark Fitzgerald, Andrew Flood, Eoghan Flood, Mark Lohan, David McMahon, Jack Muslow, Chris O’Brien, Killian Thornton
U11 Girls: Hannah O’Brien, Amelie Cafferky, Ella Cowman, Alannah Flood, Siobhan O’Shea, Sophie Maher, Annalie McMahon, Niamh Walsh
U11 Boys: Justin Evers, Jack Fairmanaer, Luke Fitzgerald, Conn Lucey, Max Mason, Luke Moraghan, Robert O’Brien, Sean O’Riagain

Finally a big thank you to Brothers Pearse A.C. for hosting the event.