Healy’s masterclass to take Schools title in Sligo

All roads led to Sligo yesterday, as our athletes were competing for their schools in the Glo Health Schools XC All Ireland’s. Congratulations to Sarah Healy (Holy Child Killiney) on taking the Intermediate title in another pulsating race with club colleague, AmyRose Farrell.

In the first race of the day, Aoibh Brady, running in the Minor girls 2000m, was part of a very successful Loreto Stephens Green team that took a bronze medal in the Team event. Well done to Aoibh on a fine run and well deserved team medal.

Helena Paran (Mt Anville) was taking part in the Junior girls race and whilst hampered badly with a shin splints injury, she was determined to run and did well in a very fast race. Pappy Tucker (St Michaels) was equally determined to run in the Junior Boys race, (having broken both wrists in a recent rugby game), and once again performed very well given his injury. Well done to both athletes.

Sarah Healy (HCK), AmyRose Farrell (Mt Anville) and Julie Ringrose (Mt Anville) were all competing in the Inter Girls 3500m. With considerable publicity on Sarah and AmyRose leading in to this weekend, it was a testimony to both girls that they remained focus in the lead up to yesterday’s race. Once again they put on a superb display of front running on a course that was surprisingly firm given the recent weather conditions. They split the field with one lap to go (1.5k) and their front running was relentless as “side by side” they poured on the pace. As they entered the final climb, both athletes were in close proximity with Sarah pulling away impressively in the last 60m and in to the finish enclosure in front of the Grandstand to claim her third All Ireland XC Schools title. Well done to Sarah on this magnificent achievement and to AmyRose on another great race. Julie Ringrose also had a fine run and was part of a Mt Anville team that narrowly missed out on a Bronze team medal. Well done to Julie and amazingly all three girls will compete in this age category again next year.

Congratulations to all six athletes on their performances from everyone at the club.