70th Annual Turkey Trot photos and report

Please see Photos here from yesterday’s Turkey Trot…..

Many thanks to everyone who helped to make Sunday’s Turkey Trot a huge success.  To everyone who baked and brought food and prizes for the Raffle, to our Master brewers, to everyone who helped organise, set up and run everything on the day: a heartfelt thanks as we could not run the event without your generosity.  Whoever belongs to the family that made and brought such lovely Christmas Cakes for the raffle – wow to be at your table on Wednesday!  Thanks also to Tayto Park and Largo Foods, Newpark Pharmacy, Hi Hair Salon in Monkstown, Life Style Sports.  Some great photos of the day on the website  www.BlackrockAC.ie  courtesy of Nicolas Reuland!
Congratulations to our well deserved End of Year Award winners: Sarah Healy (Female Athlete of the Year), Pappy Tucker (Male Athlete of the Year) and Sarah Flaherty (Mary O’Connor Trophy). 
Sarah Flaherty is a very popular winner of the Mary O’Connor award. She is your “perfect” Club member with a big personality. She continues to improve in all competitions and loves to participate in the races. Her award was well deserved and was met with universal  approval by the large crowd present. Sarah was presented with her trophy by last year’s winner, Nicole Gallagher.

Patrick Tucker better known as “Pappy” won a very hotly contested Boys award. Having joined the club earlier in the year he has notched up numerous titles including two fine Dublin County wins over 600m and 2000m. He has shown his versatility with equally impressive races over the sprint distances and he was presented with his trophy by last year’s winner, Evan Walshe.

Sarah Healy was our stand out performer this year and a very well deserved winner of the Girls award. Her roll of honour for 2013 includes a silver medal with the 4 x 200m Indoor All Ireland relays. This was followed up with individual success and 3 x Dublin County titles and 2 x Gold All Irelands and 1 x Bronze All Ireland. She led the Dublin and Blackrock team’s to success in the XC All Ireland competitions. Her achievements this year were all the more remarkable with an All Ireland win in the U14’s, an age group that she qualifies to run again next year. Sarah was presented with her trophy by last year’s winner, Natasha Twomey.