Annual Turkey Trot: Report and Recognition awards 2019

Once again Members, Friends and Family turned out in great numbers at our Annual Turkey Trot in the Park on Sunday last.  It’s been another busy year for the club who celebrated it’s 75th Anniversary back in November and has seen it’s membership continue to grow from strength to strength in both the Juvenile and Adult section.

Congratulations to the following athletes who took the main awards:

Holly O’Brien (Overall athlete of the year), Anna McCarthy (Female athlete of the year), James Browne (Male athlete of the year) and Anna Smyth/ Amelie Cafferkey who shared the Mary O’Connor Award.

Well done to the athletes on a great year.

Nigel Cowman was a deserved winner of the Club Person of the Year award as he continues to bring outstanding expertise and business acumen in his capacity as Club Treasurer. 

Congratulations to the following athletes who took Merit Awards::

U8: Nieve Gleich & Ruadhan Dowling

U9: Robyn Stafford & Conor Brunt

U10: Saoirse Dowling & Thomas Galvin

U11: Aela Kelly & Conor O’Brien

U12: Alex Doyle & Samuel Roquette

u13: Olivia Gaughran & Ben McClenaghan

U14: Rosa Mitchell & Antoine Roquette

U15: Ciara Brady & Fionn O’Donoghue

U16: Anna Smyth & Yuriy Cox

U17: Connie Patterson

Team of the Year: Girls U9 XC team: Grace Furey, Ciara Norton, Robyn Stafford, Rcahel How, Sarah Kelly, Margot Charrier, Annabel McNamara, Saoirse Mc Dermott, Robyn Kennedy

A special mention to the Roquette Family who were there in attendance despite the passing of their Son and brother, Samuel, late last week. Samuel was a deserved winner of a Merit Award in the 2008 age category. Our continued support to Louise, Benjamin and family and this very sad time. Samuel will be forever remembered in the Blackrock A.C. community.